Sawdust Caesars

Anyone interested in Mod culture should read the book “Sawdust Caesars – Original Mod Voices” by Tony Beesley (Days Like Tomorrow Books).

Sawdust Caesars

Tony’s book covers Mod culture from the early beginnings right up to the present day in the words of the Mods themselves, the people who lived through the times, set the scene and came through the other side, still a Mod at heart.

It covers the music, the dance, the fashion, the clubs, the scooters and much more:

  • From the late 50s when Mods met in coffee bars with the sounds of cool jazz played on the jukeboxes and clubs started catering for teenagers;
  • through the 60s when they danced to soul and Motown imported from USA, which eventually transformed into Northern Soul;
  • the Mods and Rockers clashes by the seaside, especially Brighton, where the title of the book, Sawdust Caesars, was coined;
  • the re-emergence of Mod in the late 70s and 80s through people like Paul Weller and the myriad of groups who appeared playing ‘Mod’ music;
  • the present day when the music, fashion, scooters are still as important to many people.

“Fab, groovy and cool”

Tony Beesley contacted me when he heard my podcasts in which I played the music I heard in the Dungeon Club in Nottingham in the 60s – the first Mod club in the city.  He asked if I could write some words about my memories of the Dungeon and the times.  I obliged and my words and some pictures are included in the book.

More information can be found through Tony Beesley’s website:

http://www.tonybeesleymodworld.co.uk/

 

Published by

mauricemozmoore

I am now at the stage where I like to enjoy life. I take photographs, mainly of all kinds of wildlife, create videos, write & play music. Try to write songs and stories. I see myself as a bit of a dilettante - a happy dilettante.

Leave a comment